Music, art, shoes

What with the last post I wrote here being just a tad melancholic, I think it’s time for something a bit more upbeat.

Things are going well at City. We’re back on to newspaper production, only this time it’s a 16 page monster – news, business, features, arts and sport. I was on the team for last week’s Hackney Post and the result was fantastic – everyone had their own role or contribution to make and the feedback we got from lecturers was very positive.

In between that I’ve been pushing on with the music writing. I got asked to write a few album reviews for a well-known magazine, so hopefully I can post links to them here soon. Today I’m applying for a job that would be PERFECT but there’s obviously going to be a ton of competition so I’m a bit nervous, particularly because the end of the MA is in sight and more and more of us are getting snapped up for jobs and grad trainee schemes.

Also I got some new shoes (pic below) which are beyond the realm of fabulous. We shall not speak of cost. Nope. SO PRETTY.

Image

My wonderful mother, who is an artist and illustrator (now with her own website, thanks to yours truly) has designed me my very own logo! It’s the same as my tattoo: Athena’s owl from the ancient Greek coin, which symbolizes wisdom, music, poetry, literature, art, and the intelligent/strategic side of war. Pretty appropriate, yeah? So I’ve made some swanky cards to hand out at gigs and stuff, and will hopefully work out how to have it as a logo for this website as well.

Image

If you’re too lazy to click on the link (you should, just to see her raving about the last episode of The Archers) you can see a few examples of her work below. She does pet portraits (and is currently working on a gorgeous painting of our Jack Russell, Flo), plus children’s illustrations, watercolours, wood carving, life drawing, occasion cards, etc. That’s my plug over, her work can speak for itself:

Image

Image

Image

About Roisin O'Connor

Music writer, freelance journalist, author.
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment